About us

FGW Brandenburg: one faculty – three universities.

Competence in health research, promotion of young talent and knowledge transfer.

The Faculty of Health Sciences emerged from the “Brandenburg Health Campus” initiative and was set up in June 2018 as a faculty by three supporting universities: the University of Potsdam, the Brandenburg Technical University Cottbus-Senftenberg and the Theodor Fontane Medical University of Brandenburg.

In addition to the cooperations between the supporting universities, cooperations with scientists from other national and international institutions are also expressly desired.

The Faculty of Health Sciences is intended to strengthen collaborations between university and non-university researchers through intensifying their shared research achievements. In this way, effective concepts for the long-term improvement of health provision can be developed.

Schematic presentation of the structure of the Faculty of Health Sciences

Currently 12 new professorial chairs are being filled, each one appointed by one of the supporting universities.

As part of the development of a research profile, the two focus areas of prevention and intervention as well as health promotion were defined under the overarching topic of healthy ageing, with the two cross-sectional topics of AI and digitalisation as well as ethics, communication and participation.

In addition, specialists in health sciences will trained at the faculty in the future. To achieve this, concepts for new and innovative courses are currently being prepared.

One further field of action of the Faculty is in the transfer and translation of the results of joint health research and their application in medical and care practice or within the economy.

Joint faculty
The University of Potsdam, the Brandenburg Medical School Theodor Fontane and the Brandenburg Technical University Cottbus-Senftenberg